Leaving physically but staying mentally.

Ok, ok. So I have been a bit lazy with regards to my blogging. Maybe it is something in the air that makes your worries/cares melt away. As you have read on Katie’s previous blog, we went on Safari in Kenya and it was a blast. I think the most memorable moment was when we were hanging out with the Masai people. The young men there were just like at home… talking about things I would talk about at home with my guy friends… pretty funny. I was able to get all of them to flex their skinny little arms in a photo with me, showing everyone how manly they were. When they saw my arms (small by american standards) they told me I should fight with their biggest warrior to see who would win. I told them we should have peace in Africa and gave them the peace sign… they all thought that was pretty funny and then started giving each other the peace sign.

I our short trip here we have been hearing and reading many stories of the continuing conflict between tribes and other groups. We are very hopeful that these differences will be settled with words but we are sure that it will require great effort on both sides to resolve these differences/grudges. It is still hard to hear about the violent groups that have emerged and those that are emerging around the east african union, but it is becoming more evident to us why they are emerging. There is so much hurt from years of violence and hate, much of which the government perpetuates. Thankfully we are seeing change in the hearts and minds of the youth and look forward to the massive changes that are in store for East Africa, specifically Uganda.

We have been so blessed with this experience and hope that there will be many students from our school to follow. It is one thing to read about the events that are happening thousands of miles from home, but living and interacting with that culture is priceless. As I titled my blog today, I will be leaving tomorrow on a plane to the USA but there will always be a part of my mind that will be thinking of my time here in Uganda. Katie and I are to give a presentation back at our school a week after we arrive home, regarding our African travels. I hope that we will be able to get the important things out in our short one hour talk.

Just thinking about being home makes me stressed! There are already piles of things that I have to do when I get back…. moving away from the student life and into the working world will be a massive change. Hope I don’t burn out!

Thanks for reading our blog. We hope you were able to get some idea of what our life has been like during our travels.

signing out,

your tan traveler,

Jon

3 Responses to “Leaving physically but staying mentally.”

  1. Mom (Erin) Says:

    Jon, you have both been a blessing to us as well. It has been so good to read your blog and to have both of your perspectives! You will have an adjustment period once you get home but will do fine and, more importantly, will be a wonderful physician and your patients will benefit from your experience in Uganda. You are right a part of Africa will come home with you and isn’t that how it should be! Travel safely and see you in May!

    Love,
    Erin

  2. Mom (Erin) Says:

    One more thing to both you and Katie, Jon. I know once you get home you will be very busy adjusting and telling stories but if you think of it, post a blog from home so we can add it to the story you have been telling us! It is funny but I will miss reading your blogs and as your Mom says living through the both of you!

    Love,
    Erin

  3. Arlene Hiatt Says:

    Thank you for blogging and sharing your experiences, which have changed you forever. I’ve always been told that once you go to Africa, Africa will be in your blood. It’s true. It’s been a little over a year since we have been to Kenya, but rarely a day goes by that I don’t think about the people of Kenya, especially the children and women.

    Safe travels and God’s richest blessings in the next part of your journey here on earth.

    Blessings,
    Arlene

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

